Digestion

Planning For Good

Posted on: November 9, 2007

Though it’s been out for a while, I only just saw Blood Diamond the other night. I was watching with a friend and I mentioned Camp Okutta, which I wrote about in a previous post. For some reason I didn’t expect Blood Diamond to be so graphic, but what was I expecting, given the film’s plot. I’m actually easily affected by visual experiences – movies, (some) commercials, art, theater, etc. so not surprisingly, something inside me stirred when I saw the child soldiers in action. Whenever I see movies with social messages, especially when they’re based on specific world issues and force one to question what’s happening to humanity, I ask myself, ‘but what can I do? what could I do besides give money?’ and then I usually forget about the movie and my questions soon after thinking about those issues.

n18706979456_6198.jpgA month or so ago I joined Planning For Good, and more recently Planning For Good – Minneapolis as a volunteer planner. Planning For Good is made up of strategic thinkers (account planners, strategists, etc.) who want to help solve real problems for non-profit causes. In the past few weeks numerous individual groups specific to various cities have sprung up on Facebook. The goal is for each city to meet collectively and share thoughts and ideas for briefs and then eventually everyone puts their ideas into the ‘idea vat’. I’m curious to see what future briefs/organizations we’ll be helping. Unfortunately, I missed the UNICEF briefing/meeting, but I’ll be sure to attend the next one.

I’m discovering Facebook is a growing platform for not only connecting with friends, but for finding like-minded people who want to do more than just chat and say hello. Though I joined a while ago, I’ve only lately become more active on FB. There are a lot of silly groups on FB (I’m probably in a few) but there are obviously some worth joining. To any planner (especially junior, or student), I encourage exploring such groups and joining Planning For Good. Interestingly, in the past two days, I’ve had two senior planners suggest I join, though I’d already done so a while back. So I’m just passing the message on. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

del.icio.us mmm

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
