Digestion

The Polling Place Photo Project – I Participated

Posted on: February 5, 2008

I just experienced my 1st caucus. A few observations of interest to me:

1. When I drove up to my caucus, I was taken aback by the line. It wrapped around the corner of the church. I was thankful it wasn’t -10 degrees like it has been lately.

2. Once inside, I noticed that 95% of the crowd looked to be 35 or under. Gave me encouragement when I saw us younger people out, trying to instigate change.

3. The voting process was so easy. And surprisingly non-technical, as I thought it might be. I wrote my name, address, email, phone number, and district on a sheet of paper. Then I was handed a piece of paper that looked like it was meant for covering a Bingo game card. I was slightly confused as to how to cast my vote. After wandering over to what looked like a paper-wrapped shoebox that said “ballots”, I firmly wrote “Barack Obama”. And dropped the little piece of paper inside the slot.

4. I took some pics so I could engage in some “citizen journalism” via The New York Times.com. Browse them all here. (I submitted 4, not sure which one are up yet.)

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

del.icio.us mmm

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
