Digestion

Where’s the Beef? Er, Blog?

Posted on: July 9, 2008

I’ve been somewhat M.I.A. (no, not that M.I.A.), and for various reasons. Obviously, there are millions of things to talk about, so I haven’t been silent for lack of material. Lately I’ve been thinking about a certain event that has happened in my life and I’m undecided as to whether I should, or even want to, write about it. I’ve tried, for the most part, to keep this blog about ideas/events/things reflective of current trends in design, marketing, and social media. Sometimes I stick to these categories, and sometimes I go way off course. This recent event in my life does not fall into the marketing/design, etc category…although I do not think people would find it uninteresting, I’m just not sure whether I can share it…yet.

I ask myself if sticking to a so-called blog format/purpose even matters? Does it? If you have a blog, do you find yourself self-editing as you find interesting content that feel should be shared, but you think maybe it doesn’t quite fall into what your blog stands for?

[Sometimes I wonder who reads Digestion. (I know my mom does, bless her. The other day she asked why I haven’t been writing because she checks it every day. I thought, ‘Wow, my mom reads blogs, even though it is her own daughter’s.’ Well, this is from a woman who has a cell phone, yet leaves it off 99.9% of the time. And, once tried turning my MacBook on by delicately pushing the apple on the top. After glaring at her with incredulous eyes, I had to point her in the right direction…of where the top opens up.) When I look at the search terms people have Googled, and have clicked to my blog, I’m surprised — and sometimes amused. Most of the time, I’m surprised to see more than 5 people read my blog each day. (Oh, I suppose they could have mistakenly found my blog, and then decided to backtrack to continue their search for, say, “sexy jokes” — yes, this is one search term that leads to Digestion!).]

About a year or so ago, I had a chat with a respected and savvy communications strategist. We were talking about blogs and blogging. Said strategist gave me some insights as to why his blog exists, for him. I think he said (in general) that it’s about having fun. If you’re not having fun, why do it? This sounds simple, really easy to understand and implement, doesn’t it? I have a good friend who enjoys writing and is now on her 3rd (?) attempt at keeping a blog. So far, it looks like she’s having fun, as she’s posted six stories this month. I believe this is my only, and lonely, post for July.

I ask you, whoever you are, wherever you are, why do you blog? Why write? How do you know when to write? I am probably over-thinking things, as I am prone to do. But really, share with me, what keeps you writing?

As for that thing that’s been on my mind lately, maybe I’ll get around to writing about it…

8 Responses to "Where’s the Beef? Er, Blog?"

I write because I have a lot to get off my chest. Writing offers me an outlet that conversation and social interaction cannot provide. I usually don’t write until I am well lubricated and my inhibitions are lowered. I keep writing because there are a few rare individuals that look forward to my offerings and leave me positive feedback.

As I said before, for fun. It’s a good way to think and excuse to read critically.

I don’t really write! I just look around for ideas and bookmark them. I find that blogging just doesn’t have a high enough bandwidth or the density for idea exchange in comparison with a good old one-to-one conversation.

I think the best bloggers are born writers, and if I’m going to overthink things, I’d say I just don’t have that linear focus of argument and articulation. My thinking is divergent and blogging/writing can’t capture the full range of my thoughts as I have them, so I don’t find it very satisifying. So yeah, I just listen in, to other conversations people are having with themselves and just find the interesting bits and do the bookmarking thing.

I spent some time using tumblr to break me out of the guilt of not writing. It allowed me to be a lot more visual with my bookmarking. Now I’m taking the tumblr approach with my main blog. I want it to be a better representation of how I think. Still lots more to do. I’m looking for my ‘medium of expression’. I’d say, figure out how you best interpret the world and respond to it, then try and extend that preference in your life/blogging: Verbal/Linguistic, Visual/Spatial, Bodily/Kinesthetic, etc.

http://www.mypersonality.info/multiple-intelligences/

since, i’m embedded w/my clients at there field office, i blog because i work 3000 miles away from my agency counterparts. sometimes, it’s just a heck of a lot easier to get a thought off my chest via the blog than picking up the phone to talk to someone clear across the country, 3 time zones away.

i meant “their” not “there.” i don’t like typos either.

Oh, leave your poor mom alone. We both know she doesn’t know any better. Her exploits at work are equally amusing. I’ll miss them.

I just started my second or third blog, and while I’d love to find the time to write, I can’t. I work 9-5, go to school and have a family. However, what’s important to me is TO READ many blogs. Not so that I can know what a good one looks like when I write again, but to “hear the conversation” and understand what people are thinking, feeling, doing, in the ways of new media, account planning, advertising in general, traditional media, etc.

Keep up the good work! Until then, I’ll wait until your next post 🙂

Thanks for the feedback. Adam, i’m checking out the Multiple Intelligences test (again). I think I’ve taken it before but I forget what I came up with. I should take this every 6 months and see if I’m consistently one type…

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

del.icio.us mmm

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
