Digestion

You, as a Brand

Posted on: February 6, 2009

A soon-to-be planner friend of mine pointed me in the direction of a great post on how to create your own ‘brand’, ‘Have You Registered Your Personal Trademarks?‘ at the Organic blog, Three Minds on Digital Marketing. One interesting tool mentioned is the Online Identity Calculator(TM), which claims “is the first and leading tool that will help you make sense of your Google results and give you advice on how to build a stellar online identity that’s aligned with your real-world personal brand.” So, I gave it a whirl…

First, I enter my name in Google. Next, I count the number of times other Courtney Kuehns appear on the first three pages of results. Then I answer a series of questions, asking for my interpretation of the results’ influence on my aspirations of who I want to be in the professional sense. (because remember, this tool is about helping you determine your online idenity as ‘your brand’) I’ve Googled myself many a time (who hasn’t?) so I didn’t expect a shame-inducing report…and the results? Apparently, “Courtney Kuehn” is Digitally Distinct.

picture-31

According to this graph, I put forth high volume and am highly relevant. I think this generally means two things: I have online presence (I blog, I Tweet, I leave comments, I’ve been in news stories) and there are no negative links out there. With a short analysis of why I am Digitally Distinct, I learn I can fine-tune Courtney Kuehn online in Ch. 11 in Career Distinction: Stand Out By Building Your Brand.

picture-4

I think almost everyone knows it’s becoming more and more obvious that today it is easy to build the ‘online You’. And, depending on the industry or field in which you work, having a high level of positive online presence can act as a career booster. A key factor in creating the online You is consistency. This is something I need to work on. I.e. I should blog more, I should write more, I should probably kick up my commenting activity. But sometimes, it’s tough. (Hey, I’ve been trying to establish and create the Real World Me for the past 20-something years. This is more important than the online Me, right?)

1 Response to "You, as a Brand"

Hey CK – thanks for linking to my blog! For some reason, I just found out about this today.

Leave a Reply

Twitter

del.icio.us mmm

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
