Digestion

Texting With Stamps

Posted on: February 10, 2009

About a month ago I went to the Walker Art Center‘s Art Lab to participate in some text messaging at the event TXT IMGE BK GNR8TR. This was no ordinary texting action, nooo…using letterpress wood type (stamps), I crafted a unique, analog ‘text message’ for my friend Allison. Once I finished my text, I stepped over to the photo lab, where I was photographed with some mobiles that weighed about 5 lbs each. (I believe these photos were to be a part of an artist’s book, but I am not sure on the details.) I then used the pic to add to my text so Allison could see just what I had been up to. I have to say, this crafty text event was fun, something I’d never done before–I even felt like I was in kindergarten, sitting there taking directions on how to fold my paper and envelope, getting inky and messy, and even stamping a letter down backwards (doh!). After the night I had, I felt a bit de-stressed and calm. What some art-making can do for you 🙂

Unfortunately, this event isn’t running now, but check out other fun and educational events at learn.walkerart.org.

STAMPS!

img_11791

HAND-FOLDED – It was harder than it looked.

img_11814

TXT SPEAK ONLY…

img_1182

PHOTO LAB

img_1188

FRONT

img_1195

INSIDE

img_1196

HAD TO USE THE WORD ‘RAD’.

img_1197

THE END.

img_1198

1 Response to "Texting With Stamps"

I really think this particular posting , “Texting With Stamps «
Digestion”, fairly entertaining and the post was a fantastic read.
Thanks a lot-Andreas

Leave a Reply

Twitter

del.icio.us mmm

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
